Home > About Centralines > CHB_Consumer_Trust_Elections

Centralines Board of Director Changes announced.







CHB Consumers Power Trust Announces Changes to Centralines Board of Directors


Tuesday 22 January 2013 – The Central Hawke's Bay Consumers Power Trust has today announced the pending appointment of two new Directors to the Board of local lines company Centralines, as well as the retirement of Chairman James Aitken.


Mr Aitken has advised the Trust that he will be standing down at the next AGM in July, thirteen years after his initial appointment to the Board in July 2000. Mr Aitken has served as Chairman for over 12 years, having been elected Chairman in September 2000.


Trust Chairperson Sarah von Dadelszen said the Trust thanked Mr Aitken for his dedication and leadership during his tenure.

“Centralines has performed very well during Mr Aitken's time as Chairman, as evidenced by the improvement in quality and reliability of electricity supply, as well as the strong financial position he leaves the Company in. The Trust is grateful to him for these achievements.”


Although the Centralines Board had previously operated with four directors, the Trust felt there was an opportunity to develop the long-term strength of the Board and has opted to appoint two new directors at the AGM in July.


“We have a wealth of knowledge and expertise on the Board, and we feel this is an opportunity to foster local talent who will bring fresh insight, as well as benefit from working alongside our existing Board members,” said Mrs von Dadelszen.


The new appointments are Ian Walker, well known locally for his leadership of Vet Services Hawke's Bay, and Nick Story, who grew up in Central Hawke's Bay and is the Area Manager of East Coast Business Banking at Westpac.


James Aitken welcomed the new appointments and was sure they would make a strong contribution to the Company. “The Board is looking forward to working with Mr Walker and Mr Story to ensure Centralines continues its solid performance.”


- Ends –


For more information, please contact:

Sarah von Dadelszen


Central Hawke's Bay Consumers Power Trust

M: 027 336 4760